top of page

Trip to Monterey Bay

My 35th birthday was in early March and I had been feeling really down with personal health issues and I didn't even want to celebrate it.

Danny wasn't having that and took me away to Monterey Bay for the weekend, just the two of us.

We stayed at the Portola Hotel which was recently redone and is beautiful. We had been there a year ago with my kid and the dogs and we love it.

We had all kinds of yummy food and snacks and I probably gained 5lbs, but it was worth it.

We went to the Monterey Bay Aquarium which we had not been to in over 6 years.

They had a new addition to their animals and sea life, a Sun Fish aka Mola Mola fish. This thing is ridiculous looking and cracked us up.

I love the ocean and sea life, watching them float along is relaxing and fun.

I might have gone a little crazy with the pictures.

Sea Horses have always been my favorite. I think it started when I was 6 and saw The Little Mermaid and Ariel had little sea horses pop out and circle her while she smiled. They are so weird and cute looking I wish I could have them at home.

The Monterey Bay Aquarium never disappoints and no matter what mood you are in it can make you smile.

I could spend all day at any aquarium, but this one is my favorite.

Cannery Row always has fun shops to visit and restaurants, it sits right on the beach and is perfect for a walk on an overcast day.

We bought chocolate, and hoodies and silly souvenirs, but mostly we left with memories.

I did not realize how much I needed to spend time by the sea, it is healing and helps you realize how big the world is and how small our problems can be. I really have the best man he knew exactly what I needed to feel better. 35 is going to be an adventure.

More Blogs
bottom of page